Town of Clayton Water Tower at Sunset
Welcome the Town of Clayton, North Carolina

Learn more about YOUR Mayor and Council members!

​They serve the entire town, not a specific district, so they ALL represent you! They serve 4-year, staggered terms and under the mayor-council system, the Mayor only votes when there’s a tie.

Need to contact them about an issue? They don’t keep office hours at Town Hall, so they’ve listed their emails, cell phones or home phones below. Your elected officials are here to serve you and welcome your input.

You can also attend Town of Clayton Council meetings  – they are open to the public! Council normally meets on the first and third Monday of each month at 6:30 PM.

Mayor Jody McLeod

Mayor Jody McLeod
210 Smith  St. Clayton, NC 27520-2437
919-291-5662 (cell)

Term Expires December 2019

Liaison to the Public Art Advisory Board


Mayor Pro-term Michael Grannis

Mayor Pro-Tem Michael Grannis
507 East Second St. Clayton, NC 27520
919-550-8547 (home)

Term Expires December 2017 

Liaison to the Downtown Development Association Board


Councilman Art Holder

Councilman Art Holder
16 Oakmont Court Clayton, NC 27527
919-550-2693 (home)  919-320-4900 (cell)

Liaison to the Library Board

Term Expires December 2017


Councilman R.S. Butch Lawter Jr.

Councilman R.S. “Butch” Lawter, Jr.
467 East Second St. Clayton, NC 27520
919-218-2834 (cell)

Term Expires December 2019

Liaison to the Recreation Advisory Board & Board of Adjustment


Councilman Jason Thompson

Councilman Jason Thompson
215 West Blanche St. Clayton, NC 27520
919-320-5090 (cell)

Term Expires December 2019



​Our Town Council is always looking ahead and planning for the future. Check out their Vision and Goals for 2025 here! Want to learn about the history of our Mayor & Town Council and how we did things back in 1869? Click here to read about our history.

Latest News
Video Gallery
© Town of Clayton All Rights Reserved